How to make our writing more interesting.

We have been focusing on our writing and how to make it more interesting.

We started by writing simple sentences. These must contain a noun and a verb. Then we had a go at using some conjunctions and joined our simple sentences together to make a compound sentence.

This was followed by a challenge…writing complex sentences! After writing the complex sentences and using some new conjunctions we found out that rather than just having to put the joining word in the middle, as we do with compound sentences, we could actually put it at the beginning too!

Students have all chosen and typed one compound or complex sentence that they have written.

I like drawing and I like learning about animals.
He’s not letting me play with him while he is eating food.
I was going to ask if I could play football but those kids looked a bit big and told me I couldn’t play.
Zoe was jumping because she got a playful dog.
When I got home my room was a mess so I said “who did this?”
“We’re over here!” shouted Ben so his mum ran towards them.
I’ve had a dog before and she liked to make a lot of mess.
You’ll get a cool pencil case and I want to buy one too.
I’m tacking jazz lessons because I want to learn to dance.
Eliza could not believe her dad’s boss was in the house and he was eating peas.
There is a new boy in the class and he’ll be sitting next to you after lunch when we go to PE.
Toby could fill up a bucket but Luke couldn’t.
I watched a video and someone was about to be shrunk down.
The teacher told us to write sentences because we needed to finish our work.
Phoebe was ridding her bike while Yasmin was cleaning her toys.
He’s going to space because he wants to see the planets.
“You’re going to win this race” said my brother and he cheered me on.
At the church, the bell rang but it fell off the roof.
He’s pretending to be Falcon and she’s dressed up like Harley Quin.
“I’m the king” Seb said so we made Seb breakfast.
Ben got 100 splinters in his leg yet he was only pulling them out the next day.
She’s sprinkling sprinkles and I’m pouring the sprinkles.
I ate whizz fix after I made it and it was yummy but it made my tongue tingle.

20170629-152705.jpg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *